Who Am I?

Some days I feel so inadequate, like no matter what I do I continuously fall short. Always wondering what people are thinking, how do they see me? WHY do I care? Sure I should care somewhat but not to the point that I let it influence my every move. I shouldn’t base my decisions because of what others might think. Peoples opinions don’t/shouldn’t set the mark for me to be who/what I am. I think when Jesus said deny yourself, pick up your cross, and follow me He meant totally denying myself, even my downfalls and insecurities. Even if I feel like I’m going to pass out or I’m shaking all over….. do it anyway. Speak out even when it’s uncomfortable. Stand up for whats right even if your the only one. What does it mean to deny ourselves? Living for Gods will and denying my own desires, not allowing selfish ambitions or negative thoughts to hold me back from Christ’ work. Stop caring what I look like or what I sound like and letting God use me even when its uncomfortable, when I’m unsure, insecure and just really don’t think I can. Moses had a great calling on his life, to lead Gods people out of Egypt, out of slavery. And even Moses questions himself in Exodus 3:11 he says to God, “WHO am I, that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the Isrealites out of Egypt?” Has God ever asked you to do something and you answer Him by questioning Him!?! He’s God, yet we question whether or not He knows what He’s doing! (Don’t worry I’m guilty of it too!) But He answers us the same way He did Moses in vs. 12 “I will be with you…..”It doesn’t matter who we are, what we look like, how much we have to give, or whatever else it may be that we tell ourselves at the time as to why we can’t do something. The Gospel is not about us, it’s about Who He is and what He did for us on the Cross at Calvary. But Moses continues to doubt himself in 4:1 ….”what if they do not believe me or listen to me and say, ‘the LORD did not appear to you’?” and I love what God does here vs. 2 Then the LORD said to him, “What is that in your hand?” Did you see that?! God will use whatever is in our hands if we allow Him!! Wherever we are, whatever we’re doing, even our circumstances….. give it to God and let Him show us what He can do with it! Moses had a staff in his hand, whats in yours?

In vs. 10Moses continues to plead with God… “O Lord I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant. I am slow of speech and tongue.”and here is Gods answer, vs.11-12 …”Who gave man his mouth? Who makes him deaf or mute? Who gives him sight or makes him blind? Is it not I, the LORD? Now go; I will help you speak and teach you what to say.”God promises He will help us but just like Moses and some of you who are reading this, I still will doubt myself from time to time. I doubt myself as a wife, as a mother, as a friend, in my job…. even as a Christian. So how do we rise above our doubts and fears (deny ourselves) and believe what God tells us? Who am I? I may continue to doubt my fleshly being but I will never doubt who God says I am. I am a child of God (John 1:12), I am a branch of the True Vine (John 15:5), I am a friend of Jesus (John 15:15), I have been justified and redeemed (Romans 3:24), I am NOT a slave to sin (Romans 6:6), I am a fellow heir with Christ (Romans 8:17), and I am accepted by Christ! (Romans 15:7)

 Luke 9:23 Jesus said,” If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.” It’s going to take faith to deny ourselves, our doubts and fears, and allow Christ to live through us. Pray continually and seek His will for our lives. We can do it because God says so! So I’ve made this promise to myself and I hope you use it too the next time God calls us to step out, let’s ask ourselves, WHO AM I? I’m Gods…. That’s who I am!

God bless you for reading and I pray that God guides and directs your every move today. Amen.

Leave a Reply

