Happiness Is Overrated

I was sure by now
God You would have reached down
And wiped our tears away
Stepped in and saved the day
But once again, I say “Amen”, and it’s still raining
As the thunder rolls
I barely hear Your whisper through the rain
“I’m with you”
And as Your mercy falls
I raise my hands and praise the God who gives
And takes away.
(Praise You In This Storm by Casting Crowns)

Habbakkuk 3:17-18 ~ Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails, and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen, and no cattle in the stalls, YET I will rejoice in the LORD, I will be joyful in God, my Savior.

Habakkuk 3:19 ~ The Sovereign LORD is my STRENGTH….. He ENABLES me to go on the heights.

Look to the Sovereign Lord of the universe, the One who created you. Storms in life WILL come, praise Him anyway- you WILL get knocked down, keep fighting anyway- people WILL hate you, love them anyway! He not only strengthens us for the journey, but He also enables us! He gives us the ability, the power, He equips us and makes impossibilities – possible! We lose our joy when we try to do things in our own strength. SEEK Him, TRUST Him, and KNOW that He’s with you. Psalm 139:5 (The Message) says I look behind me and You’re there, then up ahead and You’re there, too–  Your reassuring presence, coming and going. The NIV says “You hem me in– behind and before….” What an awesome picture of God’s presence in our lives!

Being happy is NOT the same as having joy. Happiness really is overrated. Just like any other emotion that we experience, feeling happy will come and go. But joy that comes from God, CANNOT be shaken! We “lose” our joy when we allow fear to take up residence in our lives instead of faith.

Psalm 94:18-19 ~ When I said, “my foot is slipping”, Your unfailing love, LORD, supported  me. When anxiety was great within me, Your consolation brought JOY to my soul. 

BELIEVE and TRUST! God’s got this!

1 John 5:5 ~ Who is it that overcomes the world? Only he who believes that Jesus is the Son of God.

4 thoughts on “Happiness Is Overrated

Leave a Reply

