I Choose To Trust

Making a resolution means to make a decision or to be determined. This is my New Year’s resolution: To trust God. Every single day and in every single area of my life! This isn’t difficult at all to do when life is grand and nothing major is happening. We think “I trust You, I’ll follow You, wherever You lead, Lord I’ll follow”. And then life happens! Financial problems, health scares, loss of a job, lose a loved one (2, to be exact this year). And without even realizing it sometimes, we’re faced with a choice: freak out or trust God? I don’t think it’s too far fetched to say that most of us tend to freak out at the first sight of an obstacle. We immediately go into overdrive trying to fix “it”. I know it’s natural to be afraid, life is stinking scary sometimes! It’s what we choose to do with that fear that will make a difference. David got it right on when he penned these words in Psalm 56:3: When I am afraid, I put my trust in You.

Let’s face it, we have no control over the obstacles that life throws at us. But what if we looked at our obstacle (fear) as a fork in the road. I can either open up Gods Word and trust what He says or…. I can worry about it, which btw is a dead end! There’s a whole chapter in Matthew that tells us where worrying leads, nowhere! So this year, I’m going to take Him at His Word:

Do not be terrified …….., for the Lord your God, Who is among you, is a great and awesome God. Deuteronomy 7:21

That is why we never give up. Though our bodies are dying, our spirits are being renewed every day.  For our present troubles are small and won’t last very long. Yet they produce for us a glory that vastly outweighs them and will last forever! So we don’t look at the troubles we can see now; rather, we fix our gaze on things that cannot be seen. For the things we see now will soon be gone, but the things we cannot see will last forever. ~ 2 Corinthians 4:16-18 (NLT)

God is faithful. Yesterday, today, and tomorrow! I choose to trust Him!

Leave a Reply

